For The Love Of Bass: Why I’m Not Going to TomorrowWorld Anymore

Dear Friends,

You may or may not know me. My name is Molly (no shit, that is my legal given birth name), and I am a very passionate person, about literally everything I put my heart into, and for years, my heart has been here, in the world of dance music. I recognize that people die every day at shows and festivals, but what happened at EZOO was the straw that broke the camel’s back for me. In my eyes, it stops now.

Today on our blog, which up to this point has been nothing but archive articles and editorials about Molly and drug abuse, recently posted this article. Whether or not this was the intention, it pretty much set in my mind the idea that our music doesn’t support the drug abuse-it’s the drugs that are supporting our music. This is a serious problem. And I quote:

“I know for a fact the TomorrowWorld 2013 is being supplied Molly by my former supplier, because I talked with him about it two months ago when I was in Atlanta. I expect that local law enforcement has already been paid to turn a blind eye, the people selling the Molly will arrive before security ever gets there, and no one at TomorrowWorld will have a hard time “finding Molly.” Of course, I’m not sure who got paid, or which person is responsible for bringing it in, but it will without a doubt be there, and there is nothing law enforcement can do to stop it.”

Everyone has been saying to you that drugs are bad and that we should all stop doing Molly, and we should reach out and help each other, but everyone is just talking. Nobody is actively doing anything about this drug problem. Today, I am doing something.

I am no longer attending TomorrowWorld. It is an event I have looked forward to for the last year of my life, have saved for, have planned for, and have made major sacrifices for. After I read the quote above, it was clear in my mind that the only way EDM can free itself of the hold drugs have over us is if we put our foot down and say enough is enough. We have to agree to stop supporting people, places, venues, etc that are making money by essentially killing us.

I am only one person. Me staying home from TomorrowWorld will effect no one but me, directly. My hope is that others will see this choice I am making and stand beside me. We can still enjoy shows, we can still enjoy festivals, but we have to stand up for ourselves. Companies like Insomniac stand up for us with the creation of their Night Owl volunteer team and Ground Control, whose sole purpose is to take care of us in times of medical and emotional need. I will forever be a supporter of Electric Daisy Carnival because of the emphasis they put on the safety of their supporters, their headliners. Everyone else could learn something from them.

Many of you may call me naive, because drugs are everywhere and we really cannot fully escape the grasp they have over us, but at least I’m standing up for what I believe is right in every ounce of myself, through words and actions. I encourage you to do the same.

 

One thought on “For The Love Of Bass: Why I’m Not Going to TomorrowWorld Anymore

Leave a comment